Shared.Sundays.

Shared.Sundays.
Have you ever listened to someone speak about something that made them REALLY happy? Like when they speak super fast, their eyes light up & their whole face brightens? They are SO happy about whatever it is, that it litterally makes YOU just as happy?! I want to share that toe-tingling happiness with others. What other way than to tell it. Right? Maybe it’s a great idea, or one that sounds WAY better in my head.. but why not. Share whatever/whoever/wherever makes you outrageoulsy happy today:
For me. It’s this guy.
Graduation 2012 Cal State Long Beach 066
This is my grandpa, Francis. He is WAY more than my grandpa. He’s my soul-friend. Literally. He & I get each other. First off I should explain, that he & I are not related by blood. My mom’s real father passed-away when she was fourteen. I never met him. My grandma remarried Francis before I was ever born & he has been my Grandpa since always. He was meant to be in my life.
I got the pleasure last summer of living with him for three months. I spent a summer interning in Kirkland, Washington with Google’s G-Fit Center [Un-Real] but the best part was that at 24 years old [at the time] I got to live with my Grandpa. Not many people my age get to spend that much time with their grandparents, & I was lucky to be “roommates” with him as he called it.
It was the best summer of my life. I can’t stop smiling about it as I write. He is the funniest man on the planet as well as the most genuine soul!
This is the time when I got him addicted to the Bachelor [Ashley’s season] & he and I would spend our Sunday evenings together watching it & let me tell you. He picked J.P. from the very first episode. His commentary made every episode so much better. Gosh, I love this man.
The best part of the whole experience spending time with him, was going out to “visit” my Grandma. My grandma was the most beautiful woman, & I took it VERY hard when she passed away. So did my Grandpa. I missed her voice, her hugs, her smell. Everything. Even to this day. It’s super tough for me to talk about. My grandpa gets that & shares these same emotions. I will never forget it. He usually goes & visits her gravesite once a week & brings her flowers & trims the headstone & sits out there & talks with her. When I was there,  he put that on hold, because he wasn’t sure how I would feel about going out there.
Right before I finished my internship and was about to move back to California he asked me to go with him. I dreaded it. I felt flooded with emotions. Tears welled in my eyes. I just miss her so much. His face was weary asking, you could tell & I couldn’t let him down. I put on my best smile & said “let’s go.”
We went- my grandpa & I. Standing in front of my grandma’s headstone we both wept. My grandpa held my hand, and we both stood in silence, weeping.
“I just miss her.” I said.
“Me too Little One.” He said.
We stood like this for ten minutes. Walking back to the car we were both silent and he held me in a hug. In this moment, we shared so much. Him and I are the same person, I swear. I know he was put on this planet to be a friend and Grandpa just for me.
………………………..
We still recap the Bachelor together on the phone each week. Sharing these moments with someone so precious makes me the HAPPIEST Little One [My Grandpa’s nickname for me since birth] on the whole planet.
……………………………
So let’s try it. Link Up. Share who/what/where makes you INCREDIBLY happy today !
🙂
One thought on “Shared.Sundays.

  1. Aww this is such a cute story! I love the bond yall have 🙂 For me I think this would be my mom I love hearing old storys about how her and my father met or about when she was my age.
    Now following you. Hope you follow back!

Share Your Experience!

