What I Ate Wednesday (*Warning)

Peas and Crayons

Check out Peas & Crayons link up “What I Ate Wednesday”. I always find awesome snacks, treats and meals when my inspiration is waning in the chef department.

*Warning. This breakfast is seriously amazing &  may change your life.

I’ve become a huge connoisseur of sweet potatoes lately. They make everything better. So I decided to try them out with breakfast.. because the only thing better than breakfast (the meal itself) is sweet potatoes.

Breakfast is my favorite and biggest meal of the day (typically). I hurry off to the gym the moment I pop out of bed,  chugging my black coffee (with stevia) on the way. In case you’re wondering I’m 110% on board with the whole “don’t talk to me until I’ve had my coffee” commercial- without it I look like this:

photo (24)

But I digress.. Once I’ve completed my morning cardio, consuming a hearty, protein packed, muscle-reviving, brain activating, metabolism boosting breakfast is my #1 mission:

Sweet Potatoes & Fried Egg.

sweet potato

Take a 1/2 sweet potato & cut into chunks. Toss in olive oil. Microwave for six minutes. Ta-Da.

Now for the egg.

I place a little coconut oil in the pan, warm it up, then drop a full egg in. I like my eggs runny- so I wait until there the whites have no bubbles then flip.

Put sweet potato chunks on a plate- then place egg on top. Fork to mouth. Enjoy.

Crust-less apple pie a la mode (-ice cream)

Greek yogurt has always been a staple in my diet, but this recipe has made me an even bigger fan. Don’t let your mama in on how much you drool over this recipe rather than her apple pie 😉

Cut an apple into 1 inch chunks.  ( I prefer Pink Lady & don’t question this.. My adventure partner is an apple expert & through various research has determined this apple has both the right about of crunch, sweetness, and tartness.. I’ll spare the rest of the details of this study)

Place apple chunks, 1/2 a spoon of coconut oil, 6 shakes cinnamon (i like ALOT) and 1 whole dropper of liquid stevia into a fry pan and toss the apples until they’re a deep brown. Place in bowl & top with 1/2 cup greek yogurt + stevia and 1/2 a scoop of protein powder (I’m in love with Dymatize Elite’s Cinnamon Bun protein powder). Stir together & savor each & every bite of your guiltless apple pie.

* Here’s my caveat. I’m no chef. I never measure anything. I go by “shakes” or spoons. By all means adjust the recipe by what sounds/looks/tastes good to you. I also enjoy random things together, so if apple pie combined with sweet potatoes & a fried egg sounds disgusting to you- prepare them for separate meals. I do however propose you try them in the same breakfast for a balanced breakfast full of carbs, good fats & proteins.

My afternoon snack consisted of a DELICIOUS cookies & cream Questbar. Bomb-diggity.

Lunch was a big spinach salad, with dried cranberries, shrimp and raspberry vinaigrette.

After work I headed to the gym to finish out some cardio. I’ve been taking it REALLY, REALLY easy after my long run on Sunday – which has meant little to no weight training. It’s taking some getting used to. Once my cardio was done, I finished out my dinner. Which consisted of zucchini noodles, some lean ground turkey, salsa & cottage cheese. The combination is unreal. Sorry, it was so good, I forgot to put down my fork & snap a picture.

What’s your favorite meal of the day?

Do you like to eat breakfast before or after your morning workouts?

Image

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday (*Warning)

  1. I may try that apple/yogurt dish! We eat many apples – we get really good ones, here in New York – but I’ve never liked them with yogurt or other cold dishes. Browning them first, though… that would change the whole feel. (I’ll leave out the stevia – personal preference. I agree about cinnamon, though!)

Share Your Experience!

