What I Ate Wednesday # 3

Be thankful for every new day life quotes quotes quote sky life inspirational motivational life lessons be thankful

Wednesday is here! & you know what that means! (Other than it’s another gorgeous day) I’m linking up with Peas & Crayons for What I Ate Wednesday! πŸ™‚

In all seriousness, I think I faced yesterday with a little bit too much enthusiasm or maybe aggressive is a better term. Either way, it felt way too good to come home from work & let my head hit my pillow. What’s that quote? “Wake up with determination, go to bed with satisfaction?” Mission accomplished. I was pretty darn satisfied when my mind finally surrendered last night.

When you’re as busy & as active as I was yesterday, the most important thing you can do is fuel your body correctly & hydrate. Here’s what fueled my seriously insane day.

My alarm clock sang to me at 3:45 this am with a neat little note I cleverly attached to it last night – “it’s a NEW month, get up & go!” (Cheesy, but totally got me out of bed).

HYE WIAW April 2

1.Coffee with a little stevia came first.

2.After some fasted cardio & a crazy heavy back workout (I’ll post by the end of the week) I gobbled down 1/2 a serving of brown rice (Costco, you’re the greatest) + 1/2 cup sauteed broccoli (sauteed with a little coconut oil) + 2 egg whites & one egg over easy.

I then finished sending e-mails & running some morning errands. On my way to Body Combat, I chugged 20 ounces of water + some amino energy. Grape flavor is my fave! I got there about 20 minutes early & completed Nike’s NTC 15-minute core workout, then hit the packed group ex class.

3.After class I was pumped to find a Cookie Dough Questbar waiting patiently for me in the car. I’m not sure if I really even ate it, I blinked & it was gone.

4. & 5. I headed back home, changed for work (switched out workout gear) and whipped up my lunch to bring with me. It consisted of some amazing crock-pot salsa chicken, steamed brussel sprouts & broccoli. I also made the smoothie I mentioned the other day to bring with me for a snack a little later.

During the day, I made sure to guzzle a full gallon of water. I pack a handy 1/2 gallon water bottle with me, so it doesn’t seem as daunting.Water actually increases your energy & fights fatigue so especially on days when you’re busy, drink up. Water also increases your metabolism & removes by-products of fat which both promote weight loss.

6.After teaching spin, I finished what was left of my steamed brussel sprouts, broccoli and chicken and tied up the rest of the lose ends at work. I typically don’t get home until after 8:00 pm so I like to keep my dinners light (since I’m back in bed by 9:00). Dinner last night consisted of some spinach sauteed with a chicken sausage sliced up & a heaping scoop of cottage cheese. I like eating protein at night because they are slower to digest and help repair muscle while I sleep, while remaining lower in sugar and calories.

FF Plank 1

 

So I decided to join the Fitfluential & Reebok Plank-A-Day challenge & tried out the above little number. Check out #FFAprilAbs on Instagram to check out the calendar. The goal is to be able to hold a 3-minute plank by the end of April. Day #2 here we go- get planking.

 

Who else is up for the Plank-A-Day challenge?

What’s your favorite thing to eat for a late dinner after a long day?

Signature

 

10 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday # 3

  1. I totally thought I was the only crazy person that has a 345-4 am wake up call. Good to know I’m not alone πŸ™‚ Ha Ha! To answer your question, favorite thing to eat for a late dinner would be eggs… either scrambled or omelet style & side of fruit & toast!

  2. 3.45am!!!! Wow I find getting up before 6am (my normal time) hard enough – That is seriously impressive..
    I keep seeing these quest bar’s on WIAW..I just know I need to track one down..
    Anyway in the evenings I am loving salad’s piled really high with different,veggies and protein and I generally always have a desert but something light…However If I’m going to for a long run the following morning I’ll have more carbs so I have a more balanced energy the following morning which I’ll just top up with a small snack beforehand.
    Oh and I’m absolutely joining the ‘Plank a day’ party..

    1. That wake up time may be why I am such a sucker for little naps during the day πŸ™‚ Questbars are seriously amazing- I buy a full box & keep one in my bag at all times so that I can grab it when I need a quick snack with protein. I can’t wait to see your planks! Let me know where you start this month! I’m dying to see if I can improve my time… I’m shooting for a full-five minute hold. I’ve got 2 minutes down.. We’ll see how it goes this month. Good luck!

  3. I am with you on the protein before bed! I also try to load up on protein and some fat right before bed and always wake up ready to go for my workout!

  4. Holy cow – 3:45?! That’s super impressive. My late night dinners lately are almost always eggs. My favorite lately is an omelet with one whole egg, two egg whites, some crumbled bacon, lots of sauteed spinach, mozzarella, and hot sauce!

  5. I really hope this wasn’t everything you ate that day. With three intense workouts, there’s not way this is enough food! 😦

Share Your Experience!

