What I Ate Wednesday #4

WhatIAte4

Wednesdays were made for linking up with Peas & Crayons for What I Ate Wednesday. #WIAW.

The last few weeks- I’ve noticed a few meals making reappearances…

Coffee..First thing. Duh.

This smoothie has been a staple lately as my 1st breakfast. I love the combo of fruits and spinach + this Vega protein makes it unreal. Bodacious Berry gets a huge thumbs up from me.. and my belly.

2nd breakfast included broccoli, fat-free refried beans & an over easy egg. I’ve been trying to add more broccoli into my daily diet- and forget why I don’t eat more. I lightly steam mine, or this week, I sauteed it with a little coconut oil. So.Good. I recently read this great article which highlights benefits of eating this green veggie, which made me add another 1/2 cup.

For lunch, I packed my crustless apple pie. This protein packed snack provided the perfect sweet treat after teaching Core Fusion. Pink lady apples will forever remain my favorite apple to toss into this concoction. See the recipe here. 

Wasabi peas! These are the greatest snack ever invented. I couldn’t quit grabbing handful after handful at work. I am the single biggest wasabi lover in the state and feel inclined to warn you – if you can’t stand the heat of wasabi, don’t try ’em. & if you do love wasabi as much as I do, be prepared to become addicted. 🙂

All week I was craving nachos (from my favorite Mexican restaurant in SF) but since I wasn’t able to make the 400 mile-ish trip simply for nachos, I tried my hand at making my own version. I made them with extra lean hamburger, veggie chips (from Trader Joe’s.. and ah-mazing!) fat-free refried beans & sauteed onions. I definitely meant to add cheese, but was more than 1/2 way through when I realized my  mistake.. whoops. I also added a scoop of guacamole & used 0% Plain Greek Fage yogurt as sour cream. All in all I was impressed with my mini-nachos, but they definitely weren’t as staggeringly good as the Cantina’s.

Today, I came across this lovely piece of Wisdom:

I’m pretty sure I came across this for a reason & thought I’d share with you this Wednesday. Remember darlings, your big opportunity may be right where you are now. 🙂

What’s your favorite spin on dishes you love to order out?

What words of wisdom are speaking to you today? 

Signature

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #4

  1. mmmm roasted broccoli. Please tell me you dip it in ketchup? 🙂 My words of wisdom today is “courage doesn’t always roar.. sometimes courage is the quiet voice @ the end of the day, saying “I will try again tomorrow”

  2. Oh gosh that last question about words of wisdom, having the terrible day I had the words that are speaking to be is hang in there, things will get better you just need to be patient!

Share Your Experience!

