Flipping Perspectives.

Day 14 #feelingit:

Confident.

image

This morning I woke up on the wrong side of the bed. I woke up with a deep frustration and a genuine annoyance toward the morning. I should preface this with the fact that I’m the biggest lover of mornings you’ll ever meet. I pop out of bed the moment the alarm goes off at 5:30 am, and I gladly lace up my Nikes and head to the gym for a sweat session. It’s my time.

My day was just off.

I began my day feeling unconfident. I felt shaken in my abilities. I pleaded with myself to regain my confidence. I asked for confidence. Do you know what happened throughout the rest of the day? I consistently ran into situations that tested my abilities, that demanded self-confidence in my decisions, one after the other.

I ended my day feeling confident. I came home with a sense of accomplishment, a confidence in myself and capabilities that I haven’t felt before. Why? My confidence was tested. I needed those situations to test my confidence in myself to prove how confident in my abilities I should be. How capable I am. Without those testing situations, how would I have known?

Take a look at the situations that are causing you discomfort in your life. Do they have a common theme? Perhaps these “tests” have been given to you to teach you something great about yourself. You don’t know how great you truly are until you are given a chance to prove it.

Flip your perspective, those situations that cause you discomfort, give you the chance to prove your greatness. Go prove how great you are! 

One thought on “Flipping Perspectives.

  1. Hey Courtney!

    Great post. I really liked that you totally flipped the switch on your day! A lot of people who get out of the wrong side of the bed let it take them over – not you!!!

    Today I started my day by promptly dropping a full glass of water on the ground, having it shatter all over my bedroom floor and getting water all over. I literally laughed out loud!

    Every morning I start my day with an adaptation of Tony Robbins’ “Hour of Power” – ever heard of it? If not, I KNOW you’d get a ton out of it! Check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoF85Z_WTa8

    So after I cleaned up the laugh-inducing destruction I did my hour of power starting with an anaerobic breathing exercise, laughter yoga, dancing to some old-school funk, affirmations, and goal review. Boom!

    Ever heard this Henry Ford quote?
    “When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it.”

    Lastly, I ask myself this multi-part question:
    “What was the worst part of my day?”
    “How was that actually the BEST part of my day?”
    “What have I learned from the best part of today?”

    I pose this question to you and am excited to hear what you come up with!

    Stay sporty,

    -Ben

    Btw, how do you monetize your blog, if at all?

Share Your Experience!

