The Power of Persistence.

image

“The temptation to quit will be greatest just before you are about to succeed.”- Chinese Proverb.

Day 15: #feelingit

Persistent.

When I’m not busy putting together the new business, keeping up my training schedule at the gym, adventuring outdoors in my new neighborhood, I’m a super big book nerd. I’m willing to spill a big secret- Friday nights you can find me in bed at 9 pm, curled under the covers with a great read.

I found Failing Forward by John Maxwell by accident, I needed a new book & an Instagram friend happened to post their latest read. Turning mistakes into stepping stones for success sounded like exactly what I needed to focus on with so many big things coming my way. I’m bound to make mistakes. Big ones. But how can I make sure they contribute to my success rather than my shortcomings?

My life is a blend of fitness and business and I find that lessons from one or the other always blur lines. I’m extremely competitive in all areas and in taking up yoga, I’ve found it to be no different. I understand that the previous sentence may have made some yogis extremely angry & maybe I have not evolved past my ego. Hey, I’m being honest. I try to shut out the endless chatter my mind fills itself with when I’m on my mat but I also try to reach the enlightenment the Yogi on Instagram has appeared to reach with her forearm stand on the beach. You win some, you lose some.

In trying to achieve a beautiful forearm stand, I threw out the concept of beauty and went straight for ugly. I kicked a single leg up, I crashed onto my forehead, I rolled across the carpet. I was persistent. Keep trying. Try another route. A different position. And finally, right when I was on the verge of giving up, I kicked both legs up and time froze… For three seconds. Then the next time a little longer and without a wall behind me (just in case).

That evening, after my three second forearm stand success, I read this line out of Failing Forward:

“Effort only fully releases its reward after a person refuses to quit.” – Napolean Hill

The weight of that sentence lingered in my mind. Yes! This held true for my forearm stand adventure. The greater weight of the quote can be applied across my whole life. At the moment when I no longer could see the light at the end of the tunnel but refused to give up, I was rewarded with even greater successes.

No matter what our goals, in fitness, business or life itself, be persistent in moving towards your goals. No amount of effort goes unnoticed – it just may need to be noticed in a different light.

How do you remain persistent daily? What do you do each day to remain motivated and keep your eye on the reward for  your efforts? 

3 thoughts on “The Power of Persistence.

  1. Hey Courtney!

    Totally agree on this one. The power of persistence in this world is absolutely infinite. Thomas Edison’s career as an inventor is a great example. Have you ever read any of Napoleon Hill’s books? They are AMAZING!

    I feature Napoleon Hill’s book “Think & Grow Rich” as my first book recommendation on my blog. It is without a doubt my favorite book (and it’s not actually about getting rich). The book is really all about the power of persistence and creating daily rituals that support that persistence. You can get a free copy of Napoleon Hill’s book here: http://ir.nmu.org.ua/bitstream/handle/123456789/118460/6030da7240701cbcd9f8c4f983e659d6.pdf?sequence=1

    How do I remain persistent daily?
    I have a document I call the “Ra-Ra” document that I read out loud each morning. Check it out: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1yDZGnsvAg-UJmClU12itK8nVAMJMU_KCE-CLhot8MVA/edit?usp=sharing

    I also have some affirmations I read too: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1zWUJox2FJ4VeZTMKPrYg7W_UuAlN0huBtWnFj5eHIGo/edit?usp=sharing

    What do you do each day to remain motivated and keep your eye on the reward for your efforts?
    I have a morning ritual that I think I mentioned in my last comment. Here’s the Tony Robbins link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoF85Z_WTa8

    Stay strong!

    -Ben

    P.S. I’m going to have to add Failing Forward to my reading list – thanks for sharing!!!

      1. Of course you finished Think & Grow Rich, Courtney! That’s so awesome. I feel like, if everyone in the world read T&GR, enough of them would be permanently changed that the world would see a new blossoming of humanity.

        So… what is your Definite Chief Aim?

        I’ve listened to an audiobook version of Failing Forward a couple times while at work. Killer stuff. It’s exactly what I’ve been needing lately. FF definitely reminded me of a book called “Go For No: Yes is the Destination, No is How You Get There.”

        I would love to hear more about your ideas on Personal Development. Shoot me an email and we’ll schedule a time to talk!

        My email is ben@your50kformula.com

        Talk to you soon!

        -Ben

Share Your Experience!

