New Beginnings…

new-beginnings

New beginnings are often disguised as painful endings but If I have learned anything this year it’s that as one door closes another door opens. As I close the door to this business I have put my blood, sweat and tears into, I step through to a new chapter. The journey  1,100 sq ft. has given me is indescribable.

I am forever grateful to the community of customers- I’ve added two hands of friends and several of those have become family.

I am forever grateful for the 730 days- each filled with new experiences. Some good, some bad and some downright ugly, but nonetheless have taught me to communicate succinctly, take nothing personally and to find a reason to smile at each and every person that has come through my doors.

I am forever grateful for the days when I came home exhausted, hungry and mentally drained. Limits are self-imposed. There’s always more space than you allow yourself for growth.

I am forever grateful for the travel that’s been afforded to me through this venture. I would never know how much my heart loves Atlanta, Georgia or New York City. I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to be in New York just in time for the Super Bowl or be on Good Morning America…

I am forever grateful to all entrepreneurs, creators, inventors and visionaries who invest all they have in their ideas. Hustle ain’t easy.

I am forever grateful to the morning routine built around running the business. Morning workouts are the only way I’ve remained sane through the chaos and maintained an hour everyday for “me-time.”

I am forever grateful for “good-byes” and figuratively  (& literally) “cleaning out the closet”. The goodbyes I’ve said have led to far greater things than I could have ever dreamed of. Clinging onto things that no longer make me happy seems silly. I vow to keep the lessons they’ve taught me and run towards the things that make me smile.

Most importantly, I am forever grateful for the store being the reason for moving to Portland, Oregon- where I fell in love with a “semi-stranger” who I now couldn’t imagine life without. (The lessons he’s taught me deserve another whole blog post or two..)

Thank you to the business that has shaped me the last two years. I look forward to the day I turn the key for the last time and say goodbye and head to the next door. May the next few months be a period of magnificent transformation and let the new adventures begin.

Share Your Experience!

